Annie Murphy Paul

The Extended Mind: The Power of Thinking Outside the Brain

Sprache: Englisch.
gebunden
Teilen:
» Ihre Kaufoptionen
29,00
Auf den Merkzettel

A New York Times Editors' Choice
A Washington Post Best Nonfiction Book of 2021
A New York Times Notable Book
A bold new book reveals how we can tap the intelligence that exists beyond our brains-in our bodies, our surroundings, and our relationships
Use your head.
That's what we tell ourselves when facing a tricky problem or a difficult project. But a growing body of research indicates that we've got it exactly backwards. What we need to do, says acclaimed science writer Annie Murphy Paul, is think outside the brain. A host of "extra-neural" resources-the feelings and movements of our bodies, the physical spaces in which we learn and work, and the minds of those around us- can help us focus more intently, comprehend more deeply, and create more imaginatively.
The Extended Mind outlines the research behind this exciting new vision of human ability, exploring the findings of neuroscientists, cognitive scientists, psychologists, and examining the practices of educators, managers, and leaders who are already reaping the benefits of thinking outside the brain. She excavates the untold history of how artists, scientists, and authors-from Jackson Pollock to Jonas Salk to Robert Caro-have used mental extensions to solve problems, make discoveries, and create new works. In the tradition of Howard Gardner's Frames of Mind or Daniel Goleman's Emotional Intelligence, The Extended Mind offers a dramatic new view of how our minds work, full of practical advice on how we can all think better.

ANNIE MURPHY PAUL is an acclaimed science journalist who contributes to Scientific American, the New York Times,Time,Slate, and many other publications. Formerly senior editor at Psychology Today, Paul is a Future Tense Fellow at New America, as well as a senior adviser at the Yale University Center for Teaching and Learning.

ISBN 0544947665
EAN 9780544947665
Seiten 352 Seiten
Veröffentlicht Juni 2021
Verlag/Hersteller MARINER BOOKS
Autor Annie Murphy Paul

Was bedeutet Click&Collect?
Sie wählen online einen Artikel aus und können diesen ganz bequem in der Buchhandlung abholen und bezahlen.

Wie funktioniert Click&Collect EXPRESS?
In der Buchhandlung vorrätige Artikel können Sie kostenfrei und ohne Registrierung sofort reservieren. Nachdem Sie die Reservierungsbestätigung erhalten haben, steht der Artikel direkt zur Abholung bereit.

Wie funktioniert Click&Collect (*mit über Nacht-Express)?
Ist ein Artikel nicht in der Buchhandlung vorrätig, liefern wir Ihre Bestellung über Nacht bequem und kostenfrei in Ihre Lieblingsbuchhandlung. Nach Eintreffen der Lieferung entscheiden Sie selbst, wann Sie den Artikel in der Buchhandlung abholen.

*Wenn Sie einen oder mehrere unserer über 1 Mio. sofort-lieferbaren Artikel Wochentags bis 15 Uhr bestellen (Uhrzeit variiert je ausgewählter Lieblingsbuchhandlung), liefern wir diese am Vormittag des darauffolgenden Werktages (Mo. - Sa. , außer an Feiertagen) in die von Ihnen ausgewählte Partnerbuchhandlung aus. Nach Eintreffen der Lieferung entscheiden Sie selbst, wann Sie den Artikel in der Buchhandlung abholen.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier